27 Nakshatra Shrine, Mahalingaswamy Temple, Tamil Nadu

20160714_181659Mahalingeswaraswamy Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva, located in Tiruvidaimaruthur, a village in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. In this temple is a Sri 27 Celestial Asterism (Nakshatra) Shrine where devotees of Dakshinamoorthy – and sincere seekers – may make offerings to have afflictions removed or to get their prayers answered. There are also 27 dedicated pools within the temple complex. Nakshatra Shanti Puja will be offered at this temple in conjunction with Guru Peyarchi offerings.

The Temple


Mahalingeswaraswamy Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva, located in Tiruvidaimaruthur, a village in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. It is significant as one of the seven major Shiva temples. Shiva is worshiped as Mahalingeswaraswamy, and is represented by the lingam, with his idol referred to as Jothimayalingam. His consort Parvati is depicted as Pirguchuntaragujambigai. The lingam of the temple is believed to be the focal point for the seven consorts of Shiva. The presiding deity is revered in the 7th century Tamil Saiva canonical work, the Tevaram, written by Tamil saint poets known as the nayanars and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam.

According to legend, Mahalingaswamy is the centre of all Shiva temples in the region and the Saptha Vigraha moorthis (seven prime consorts in all Siva Temples) are located at seven cardinal points around the temple, located in various parts of the state. The seven deities are Nataraja in Chidambaram Nataraja Temple at Chidambaram, Chandikeswarar in Tirucheingalur Temple at Tirucheingalur, Vinayagar in Vellai Vinayagar Temple at Tiruvalajuli, Muruga in Swamimalai Murugan Temple at Swamimalai, Bhairava in Sattainathar Temple at Sirkali, Navagraha in Sooriyanar Temple at Suryanar Kovil and Dakshinamoorthy in Apatsahayesvarar Temple, Alangudi at Alangudi, Papanasam taluk. The other deities of a Shiva temple associated with Mahalingeswaraswamy are Durga in Thenupuriswarar Temple at Patteswaram, Somaskanda in Thyagaraja Temple, Tiruvarur at Tiruvarur and Nandi at Tiruvavaduthurai Temple at Thiruvaduthurai. The temple is also referred as Pancha Linga stala due to the presence of five lingams, four of which in the cardinal directions and the fifth one at the centre. The temple of Viswanatha lies in the east street, Rishipuriswara in the west, Atmanatha in South street and Chokkanatha in North street.

27 Nakshatra Shrine

Birth stars or Nakshatra – sometimes called asterism – are as important as the planets in Jyotisha. Just as it is important to visit or make arrangement for offerings at temples dedicated to planets (navagrahas), so also, it is important to visit or make arrangement for offerings at temples dedicated to one’s birth star or nakshatra.

It is said that visiting a temple corresponding to your birth star once a year removes obstacles and ensures a happy life.

In the Vedic (Hindu) system of Astrology, known as Jyotish in Sanskrit, there are 27 constellations and are known as 27 Nakshatras. According to Jyotish these 27 constellations divide the celestial sphere into 27 different parts and are not same as the 12 star-signs. These 27 constellations are known as the 27 Nakshatras, which are 300 to 400 light years away from earth.

In sequential order, the nakshatras are named as follows:

  • Ashwini

  • Bharani

  • Krittika

  • Rohini

  • Mrigashira

  • Ardra

  • Punarvasu

  • Pushya

  • Ashlesha

  • Magha

  • Poorva Phalguni

  • Uttara Phalguni

  • Hasta

  • Chitra

  • Swati

  • Vishakha

  • Anuradha

  • Jyeshtha

  • Moola

  • Purva Ashadha

  • Uttara Ashadha

  • Shravana

  • Dhanishtha

  • Shatibhisha

  • Poorva Bhadrapada

  • Uttara Bhadrapada

  • Revati



 Entrance to 27 Nakshatra Shrine



View of Naskhatra Idols



 View of Shrine dedicated to Nakshtras



  View of Shrine dedicated to Nakshtras



 Long view of Sri 27 Celestial Asterism Shrine



 Shrine to Sri Guru Dakshinamoorthy



 Idol of Sri Vinayaka

The 27 Nakshatras:



  Moothy (idols, statues) of Nakshatras.



 the cloths show that prayer, offering, puja to the Nakshatra are complete.



 Nakshatras can be of Deva, Raskshasha or Manusha race.



 Nakshatras are also overlighted by one or another of the Trimurthi: Brahma, Vishnu, Maheshwara.



 Nakshtras have presiding deity, a shape or symbol, guna and caste



 Nakshatras also signify the purusharthas, the four goals of life:
right conduct, wealth, needful desires and moksha, freedom from rebirth



 The shakti of the nakshatra (above, below) produce a result which is
the effect, the bestowal of the energy of that nakshatra in your life



 Nakshatras are also classified as karma, bhoga, naasa, relate to the mineral, vegetable and animal kingdoms and are the rulers of vata, pita and kapha dosams in the body.



 The Shiva Lingham in the Shrine.

The Temple history tells that the 27 Nakshatras made sacred offerings to Sri Guru Dakshinamoorthy and Lord Shiva at this temple; hence presence of idols (called moorthy, means shape, form, statue of) Dakshinamoorthy and the Shiva Lingham at this temple.

Nakshatra Shanti Puja

Special offerings will be conducted to the Nakshatras at the time of Guru Peyarch puja at this temple. People may join in this puja according to their birth star, the moon’s nakshatra.

Step 1: Send Email stating your wish to participate in Archana (prayers), Abhishekam (pouring of libations amidst chanting of mantras), Homam (ritual offerings to fire), Sankalpam (sacred resolutions and intentions), and Puja (offerings). YOU MUST WRITE YOUR NAME, MOON SIGN AND NAKSHATRA.

Step 2: Make Payment via Paypal using the link below:

Thanks and Best Regards,
Sai Bharathi
Agasthya Astrologer

2304 Total Views 1 Views Today